Built in 1910 by the Finnish Building Company Limited, it was designed by C.W. Wheeler. Alex Beck supervised construction. Unique features include the central polygonal tower supported by columns, the domed glassed-in cupola above the roof-line and the two-sided oriel windows on the facade. Intended as a community meeting place it originally housed a theatre, a library and a reading room. Today, it continues to serve as an active, thriving Finnish cultural centre for the Finlandia Club of Port Arthur and its member societies. It is home to the internationally renowned “Hoito” restaurant, a Museum and an annual Film Festival among many events around the year. It boasts the “best dance floor” in Thunder Bay!
Where to Find Us
314 Bay Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 1S1
Hoito: 807-345-6323 Hall rentals: 807-344-7081